Bug in debug file

Discussions about the WinBoard protocol. Here you can also report bugs and request new features.

Moderators: hgm, Andres Valverde

Bug in debug file

Postby Giorgio Medeot » 23 Feb 2011, 15:14

Sorry, I could not resist! :D

I just stumbled upon this little bug. When running WB localized in italian and with the -debug option, I see this in the debug file:

Code: Select all
recognized 'normal' (-1) as variant normal
recognized 'normal' (-1) as variant normal
WinBoard 4.5.1 + gaviota
Reset(1, 0) from gameMode 0
recognized 'normal' (-1) as variant normal
GameEnds(0, (null), 2)
shuffleOpenings = 0
TC string = ':40/1800'
mps=40 tc=1800000 inc=0
TC string = ':40/1800'
mps=40 tc=1800000 inc=0
StartChildProcess (dir="..\gaviota") gaviota.exe
nice engine proc to 10
969 >primo : xboard
protover 2
1047 <primo : Gaviota v0.75.7
1047 <primo : Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Miguel A. Ballicora
1047 <primo : There is NO WARRANTY of any kind
1047 <primo : # mode = winboard/xboard
1047 <primo : # Type 'screen' for a better output in console mode
1047 <primo : # Type 'help' for a list of useful commands
1047 <primo :
2860 <primo : feature done=0
2860 >primo : accepted done
...

As you can see the word "first" gets translated as "primo" (that is the italian word for "first", specified in the italian language file). This seems wrong to me, as it would break many utilities that parse the content of the debug file.

Cheers,
    Giorgio
Giorgio Medeot
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 11:01

Re: Bug in debug file

Postby H.G.Muller » 23 Feb 2011, 16:18

Arghhh! :twisted:

This is an unintended side effect of translation. Apparently WinBoard uses the same strings for indicating the engine in many messages in the debug file, as well as in many message that are shown to the user in popups (cps->which). I guess I will have to divorce those two groups, leaving the original string untouched, and applying translation on it everywhere it is used for printing to a popup... :(
User avatar
H.G.Muller
 
Posts: 3260
Joined: 16 Nov 2005, 12:02
Location: Diemen, NL

Re: Bug in debug file

Postby Giorgio Medeot » 23 Feb 2011, 17:16

This sounds as a great deal of work... :(
Giorgio Medeot
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 31 Aug 2009, 11:01

Re: Bug in debug file

Postby H.G.Muller » 23 Feb 2011, 18:28

Well, it was not too bad; I did it everywhere in the source file backend.c, which contains by far the most code. Fortunately it is always very obvous in the code if something is intended for the debug file. Problem is to also search all the smaller files for "cps->which". My favorite search command "grep" that can search all files simultaneous does not seem to work for strings with ">" in them... :(

Anyway, the worst that can happen in my fixed version is that in messages shown to the user the words "first" and "second" show up untranslated. I guess we can live with that.
User avatar
H.G.Muller
 
Posts: 3260
Joined: 16 Nov 2005, 12:02
Location: Diemen, NL


Return to WinBoard development and bugfixing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests