Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Discussions about Winboard/Xboard. News about engines or programs to use with these GUIs (e.g. tournament managers or adapters) belong in this sub forum.

Moderator: Andres Valverde

Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Postby Graham Banks » 27 Aug 2006, 08:33

I'm having difficulty knowing how to get Atlas 2.20 using 128mb hash also. :(

Regards, Graham.
User avatar
Graham Banks
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:37
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Postby Tony Thomas » 27 Aug 2006, 08:38

Graham you arent the only one who got problem with Atlas. I have never tried to use more than 32MB hash, still it always used around 26MB, I thought nothing of it, but regardless or what protocole you use, the memory usage of Atlas is fixed from what I see.
Tony Thomas
 
Posts: 232
Joined: 14 May 2006, 19:13
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Postby Graham Banks » 27 Aug 2006, 09:11

Tony Thomas wrote:Graham you arent the only one who got problem with Atlas. I have never tried to use more than 32MB hash, still it always used around 26MB, I thought nothing of it, but regardless or what protocole you use, the memory usage of Atlas is fixed from what I see.


Thanks Tony. Guess I'll wait until a future version of Atlas has the option to use 64mb hash or more.

Regards, Graham.
User avatar
Graham Banks
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:37
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Postby Tony Thomas » 27 Aug 2006, 13:03

You know strength of a program isnt always dependent on hash table usage. I remember Uri saying that he observed that his program doesnt seem to gain much from more hash. I would say you should test Atlas, just put a note on the name, Atlas 2.20 26Mb or something similar.
Tony Thomas
 
Posts: 232
Joined: 14 May 2006, 19:13
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Postby Graham Banks » 27 Aug 2006, 19:23

Tony Thomas wrote:You know strength of a program isnt always dependent on hash table usage. I remember Uri saying that he observed that his program doesnt seem to gain much from more hash. I would say you should test Atlas, just put a note on the name, Atlas 2.20 26Mb or something similar.


I just like things to be reasonably consistent. That's the trouble when you're a perfectionist! :wink:

Graham.
User avatar
Graham Banks
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: 26 Sep 2004, 20:37
Location: Auckland, NZ

Re: Atlas 2.20 hash usage

Postby Tuvoc » 27 Aug 2006, 21:42

Well, CCRL rules do state:

If an engine has problems with particular hash size, it may play with smaller hash.


So it could probably be included if you feel so inclined :)
Tuvoc
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 27 Sep 2004, 21:16


Return to Winboard and related Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests