Training mode

Discussions about Winboard/Xboard. News about engines or programs to use with these GUIs (e.g. tournament managers or adapters) belong in this sub forum.

Moderator: Andres Valverde

Training mode

Postby Dave Neve » 19 Dec 2020, 21:19

Hello :D
I tried this tonight for the first time and maybe in the end game where there are less possibilities,it could work for me but I'm not good enough at the start. I have to try loads of moves each time before I stumble across the right one.
is there a way to get a hint, maybe which piece is moved next?
Cos otherwise, in training mode, a game will take me yonks :(

Thanks
Dave Neve
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 09 Nov 2019, 15:40

Re: Training mode

Postby H.G.Muller » 12 Jan 2021, 22:43

I have never used training mode myself. There is a hint menu, but currently it works only with an engine, which would provide the necessary chess knowledge. But what you say could be an idea: let that same menu item in training mode tell you which piece has to move. This might not be very easy to implement though.
User avatar
H.G.Muller
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: 16 Nov 2005, 12:02
Location: Diemen, NL


Return to Winboard and related Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests