tbgen?

Programming Topics (Computer Chess) and technical aspects as test techniques, book building, program tuning etc

Moderator: Andres Valverde

tbgen?

Postby dave » 20 Jun 2011, 03:01

Where can i find the namilov tablebase generator that will run under windows xp pro 32? My searches only turn up source codes and the 64 bit. Also ,I am looking for datacomp.exe.

Thanks in advance
dave
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 00:34

Re: tbgen?

Postby Charles Browne » 20 Jun 2011, 06:56

dave wrote:Where can i find the namilov tablebase generator that will run under windows xp pro 32? My searches only turn up source codes and the 64 bit. Also ,I am looking for datacomp.exe.

Thanks in advance


This is datacomp.exe.

http://www.2shared.com/file/mmkL3YLT/dave.html

In the folder are some example commands. If you have the compressed Nalimov tablebases already I ask that you test the datacomp.exe file to see if it will uncompress one that you try it out on. If it uncompresses then chances are it will also compress, as a matter of fact after you uncompress the file you can try recompressing it. But first remove the orginial .emd file that was uncompressed from the directory. If you don't have the tablebases already you can get one from the Internet to test.

I did test the exe out to see if it worked in XP Home and it did (I had only ever used it on Windows ME before), just want to know that it works for you in Pro.


Here's a link for tbgen.exe on D. Corbit's site you can try.

http://cap.connx.com/chess-engines/new- ... /TBGEN.ZIP

or try this link

http://web.archive.org/web/200608060734 ... /TBGEN.ZIP

You need the TBGENI.exe or the TBGENM.exe file, from what I've read they are both from the same source code but compiled differently or something like that. The owner of the site would know better. See if one works for you.


Also Chessbase released a Nalimov tablebase generator on some of their disc. I think one was on the Fritz 8 disc, not sure of which other disc it might have been on.

edit: added link
Last edited by Charles Browne on 29 Dec 2011, 14:35, edited 1 time in total.
Charles Browne
 
Posts: 209
Joined: 26 May 2008, 00:30

Re: tbgen?

Postby dave » 20 Jun 2011, 16:42

The tbgen from the link didnt work for me.
dave
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 00:34

Re: tbgen?

Postby Charles Browne » 22 Jun 2011, 01:46

Before posting the tbgen link I tested it on XP Home and it worked but that doesn't mean anything I suppose because I am using an older processor and you have to be using a newer processor since you are using XP Pro, if the newer processor could have anything to do with it not working for you. Plus XP Pro isn't exactly the same as XP Home.

To test it I just made a bat file and ran the bat file from the same directory that the tbgen exe file was in. The created tablebase files were saved to the same directory.

If you want to try the bat file you can download it from here.

http://www.2shared.com/file/nBsgvdo1/test.html

In the above test.zip file are a bat file, the tbgeni.exe and tbenm.exe files and a forum thread.

This is what is in the bat file.

Code: Select all
tbgenm -m 200 -p kpkp


It is set to use the tbgenm.exe file and since it is set to generate the kpkp file and its subset files I only used 200 megabytes of memory. From what I've read it takes something like 576 megabytes of memory to generate the full 5-men tablebases. If tbgenm doesn't work for you, you could try changing tbgenm to tbgeni in the bat file and see if that one works. If you also have significant amounts of memory you can try uping the memory in the bat file.

The included, very old, Winboard forum thread was geared toward older systems with 512 megabytes of memory in them. Still the forum thread may have some useful information in it.

I also cannot generate any tablebases without using the -p command.


I have never used the tbgen exe file to generate a full set of the 5-men tablebases. I have used it generate certain of the 5-men subsets but since I downloaded the tablebases from Robert Hyatt's site and saved them to disc I have mostly only used datacomp.exe to uncompress some of the Hyatt's tablebases that I had saved.


This is what is listed when running tbgenm from the command prompt in XP Home.


E:\>tbgenm
Usage: tbgen options tablebases

Valid options:
-m number - specify memory size (in Mb)
-c number - specify TB cache size (in Mb)
-d dirs - search TBs in the specified directories
-p - use file mapping (Win32 only) or virtual memory
(do not use -p together with -c when creating tablebase)
-e - verify existing tablebases
(you must to specify -c when verifying tablebase)
-v - verbose mode
-q - query tablebases
-i - generator will run with low priority

Example: tbgen -m 570 -p -d c:\tb;d:\tb kbpkb


Anyway if you care to it would be of interest to know what kind of error message if any you get when trying to run the tbgen. As someone that might one day get XP Pro 32bit, I'd be interested in knowing.
Charles Browne
 
Posts: 209
Joined: 26 May 2008, 00:30

Re: tbgen?

Postby Charles Browne » 22 Jun 2011, 03:04

[ Removed nonworking link ]
Last edited by Charles Browne on 12 Jan 2012, 10:52, edited 1 time in total.
Charles Browne
 
Posts: 209
Joined: 26 May 2008, 00:30

Re: tbgen?

Postby dave » 22 Jun 2011, 04:18

Thank you very much. :)
dave
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 00:34

Re: tbgen?

Postby dave » 27 Jun 2011, 07:45

There is one notable error when using tbgen.exe (not to be confused with tbgenm or tbgeni).

knpkp - thats the tablebase I needed and gave tbgen.exe the command to build it.

tbgen.exe starts to build the subendgames for this table wich , already exist. And those subendgames are fine btw , all uncorrupted.

I tryed to build it several times over fresh restarts and defrags and I even cleaned the registry. tbgen.exe refuses to build knpkp.

btw , can someone elaberate on the compile differences between tbgenm and tbgeni?
dave
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 00:34

Re: tbgen?

Postby Charles Browne » 27 Jun 2011, 12:20

dave wrote:tbgen.exe starts to build the subendgames for this table wich , already exist.


Are those subsets that have already been built still in an uncompressed state? They need to be in an uncompressed state or tbgen.exe's will not be able to detect them and will build them over, my experience anyway.

And if they are in an uncompressed state have they been moved to a different directory after they have been built? And if they have been moved to a different directory how is that directory being stated in the command?
Charles Browne
 
Posts: 209
Joined: 26 May 2008, 00:30

Re: tbgen?

Postby dave » 27 Jun 2011, 12:39

You are right.

After uncompressing the subendgames it started building knpkp.

Thanks a lot. :)
dave
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Jun 2011, 00:34


Return to Programming and Technical Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron